Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

sound gone

• Please log in to reply

Aileen Delahunty

Aileen Delahunty

• PipPip
  • 32 posts
:tazz: Can you help? My computer is telling me I have no audio device. I had one until I tried to get rid of a virus (with your help, geeks) and I now have not got any. I may have deleted it (is that possible?). If it is, how do I get it back. I am a complete novice when it comes to computers so I could have done anything!!. The virus was 'DrPMon.dll. I got rid of it but now have no sound. Please help. I miss listening to music etc. Aileen.

Advertisements

dsenette

dsenette

Je suis Napoléon!

• Community Leader
  • 26,047 posts
  • MVP
right click my computer > manage > device manager. look for any yellow ?

Aileen Delahunty

Aileen Delahunty

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 32 posts
:tazz: Yes. Yellow question mark over 'Multimedia Audio Controller'. Is this bad/terminal. I have a Dell4800. Thats about all I know. Aileen.

dsenette

dsenette

Je suis Napoléon!

• Community Leader
  • 26,047 posts
  • MVP
no..it's not bad...it just means that you have to download the driver for your sound device...if you go to dell's website you should be able to find it by putting in the service tag number here http://support.dell....dex.aspx?~ck=mn

Aileen Delahunty

Aileen Delahunty

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 32 posts