Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Asus vs DFI vs Gigabyte

• Please log in to reply

Streetwarrior

Streetwarrior

• Pip
  • 3 posts
Total newbie to overclocking and this forum :) so probably will get flamed.. hope i got the right category.

Have looked at some of the discussion lines and have bought kit to start building up to a rig (listed in profile - jup you guessed it, its the PC that ebay build :tazz: ) but have come down to which motherboard and need input from those wize prophets that sit in the pantheons of knowledge. (bla bla bla major suck up....)

the 3 Mobo's I'm looking at are:
*Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI (due to having the 6800 Ultra's from Gigabyte, but been told is limited on RAM overclocking and memory banks are close together = heating?)
*Asus ? (told they are rock solid and i dont want to go mental on overclocking, don't know how good though)
*DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 SLI-DR (pricey but lets me match my RAM but dumber than a plank(newbie) when it comes to config the bios)

Or should I be looking at another board not mentioned here - don't know what is out there :) ?

All help greatly appreciated. here is my components so far (in case profile can't be seen)
Thermaltake Tsunami Case (due to all aluminium + 2x 120 fans)
Enermax Noisetaker 600W (2x SLI)+ 2 fans
2x GeForce 6800 Ultra 256MB SLI PCI-e (do they require extra cooling?)
AMD Athlon 64 FX55 1MB L2Cache 939pin(ADAFX55ASBOX)
1 Gig (2x 512mb)OCZ PC4400 DDR550 GOLD LTD EDITION

Edited by Streetwarrior, 20 September 2005 - 02:12 PM.

Advertisements

warriorscot

warriorscot