Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

hey guys! I got a "Error loading operating system"

• Please log in to reply

chuunarusamurai

chuunarusamurai

• PipPip
  • 42 posts
Well this is my first time on these boards, " error loading operating system" What should i do? this comes up when i try to install xp on my custom, it boots up then i install it xp after the first part of rebooting the Bios comes up and then says that error what should i do?

Advertisements

wannabe1

wannabe1

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 16,645 posts
Hi chuunarusamurai...

Go into your BIOS setting (tap either F1 or Delete during boot sequence) and change your First Boot Device to HDD (may be listed as IDE 0) save your settings (usually F10) and exit setup. Reboot.

let me know how it goes.

wannabe1

ukbiker

ukbiker

Rest in Peace, ukbiker

• Retired Staff
  • 2,014 posts
Hi there chuunarusamurai :)

This link is to a help site that I always use, there are step by step instructions here as to exactly waht you need to do, both in preparation for and the actual install itself of XP.

XP Install Guide

Its an excellent guide. :tazz:

chuunarusamurai

chuunarusamurai

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts
its says "error loading operating system"

wannabe1

wannabe1

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 16,645 posts
What kind of disk did you install with? Retail? OEM?

wannabe1

chuunarusamurai

chuunarusamurai

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts
retail

wannabe1

wannabe1

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 16,645 posts