Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Disc drives read slowly ?

• Please log in to reply

deanbo

deanbo

• PipPip
  • 62 posts
Hi everyone my names Deanbo a newbie here.
My question and problem is both my Samsung DVD rom and my Asus CD-RW
read discs slowly and it has recently become worse.

I've found a page with good info on it for discs being read slowly.

http://sniptools.com...e-in-windows-xp

It's good but i need to change some registry settings as the first bit on the page instructs you.

I have never done this but i have run RegEdit and can see Masterd id Data Checksum
....................................................................................................And i can see Slave IdDataChecksum

I have googled and found the info and i have read it but i am very warey of doing
these things as i'm 90% there but don't quite understand how exactly to do this.

It says find the following key which i did and it mentions a list of 4 digit numbers,i found them too.
What i don't fully understand is where it says "Under each key delete all occurencies of the following values".

This means the master idData checksum and Slave Id DataChecksum which i've found OK.

So what do i do now ?I have discovered that this often happens when you've had a power failure
while your PC was on.It has happened 3 or 4 time in the last 6 months so i think that's what's caused
it.