Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Open Source Forums

• Please log in to reply

TheRelief

TheRelief

• PipPip
  • 37 posts
I want to start a forum for my local small biz community. Unfortunately, I have no experience whatsoever with forums, and I don't know how difficult it will be to download and install.

I plan on using http://www.phpbb.com/ because it's one I know for sure is comptabible with my hosting.

If need be, I'd love to do some trade work with someone who was willing to do the installation process for me or at least go through it with me so that I do it properly.

TIA!!!

Advertisements

Allsortgroup

Allsortgroup

I SPAMMED Too Much!

• Banned
  • PipPipPip
  • 905 posts
Its REALLY easy to install!!!

I have it on my website here...

http://www.allsortshop.com/forums

Have a look at the flash tutorials on the phpbb website.

They explain the whole installation process!

:tazz:

TheRelief

TheRelief

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 37 posts
Ooo, thanks. You've given me hope.

When I was talking to a tech at my hosting company, he said it somewhat easy but then I also needed to be really fluent with php (which I'm not), really making it sound as though I might need a programmer to do the installation.

So, if I start this all by my lonesome, can I ask you some questions if I get stuck? I don't do well with written tutorials. I have to actually do something or have someone literally walk me through it before I understand.

Allsortgroup

Allsortgroup

I SPAMMED Too Much!

• Banned
  • PipPipPip
  • 905 posts