Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Dell Motherboard, new case?

• Please log in to reply

Spudnik

Spudnik

• PipPip
  • 10 posts
I'm VERY new to hardware... but not stupid by anymeans... I decided to buy a new case for my Dell(I went with Dell, since it was a good deal and affordable for me at the time)... Anyways, right now. Everything is installed and working in perfect order, the motherboard fits and all the PCI slots line up, etc... One HUGE problem. I can't connect to the front panel, meaning: I can't power up my machine, or use USB ports on the front(Not as big a deal, four is more than enough for me anyways)... My 4450 Dimension motherboard has one cable that runs from the motherboard to a distribution panel(so to speak) and from there, you have your USB slots and a headphone jack, then from that panel you have a cable that goes to the power/reset button, HDD light. Now I fiddled around plugging in the "Power SW" cable into the pins that would normally run to my power button from the distribution panel(Which I hooked back up to my motherboard). But that lead me nowhere. So I did, however slide my dell case next to my new case, and plugged in my dell case, power button into the small panel, pressed power and viola my new case lit up and was functioning correctly. But that will just not do. Is there anyway I can get this to work, without ripping my dell case apart and duct taping my dell power button to the side of my new case?

Advertisements

nixx

nixx

• PipPipPip
  • 187 posts