Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

New site - need advice

• Please log in to reply

comanighttrain

comanighttrain

• PipPipPip
  • 553 posts
Hey guys, im gonna be hosting an online personals website soon from my bedroom (im sick of all the other ones, theres no way im paying, plus the chat features are rubbish).

I need good advice, im an adequete programmer and use SQL a lot. Im not so clued up on server things, and i believe the best way to learn is from other people and doing instead of reading text (some reading is obviously requiered :mad: ) .

What would be the best all round solution (judging cost, ease of use and stability)?

out of WindowsSE, Linux (slackware or fedora) or freeBSD or an unnamed solution?

and out of an old 2 processor server, a P3 1ghz, 1 gig ram and SATA working with P4, 2 gig ram and SATA and just buying space on a server?

Thanks guys!
Dave

Advertisements

Allsortgroup

Allsortgroup

I SPAMMED Too Much!

• Banned
  • PipPipPip
  • 905 posts
I would just suggest you buy your own space on a server!

I mean, if you host your own website, you have to leave your internet on 24/7!

A good place is...

http://www.centricahosting.com

Thats what hosts my website Allsortshop.com!

Im with the £120 / yr package BUT!!! I buy my hosting from this company off ebay so i get all the stuff you get in the £120 / yr package + unlimited space etc for only £5.95 / yr.