Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

home network

• Please log in to reply

sue472

sue472

• Pip
  • 3 posts
Got it all working now. Thanks to everyone that helped!

Hi - I am very new at networking! I've searched internet for answers, called Linksys(no help) & am still lost. I just bought a new notebook with WiFi & would like to share printers & files wirelessly with my old desktop.
New notebook - Windows XP home 804.11g wireless
Old Desktop - Windows 98SE - it says it has a SiS 900 based PCI fast Ethernet adapter
I live in the sticks & only am able to get dial up internet - I'm not concerned with sharing this.
I was sold a Linksys WRT54G router, and was told this would do it - hard wire Old Desktop to Router & notebook will find it - wouldn't need DSL modem for it to work. I've named & set up workgroups etc. I'm not even sure it is configured - putting the http:// into the the browser does nothing. The Notebook finds router but nothing from desktop side.
Is this the right way to go? Do I need a NIC for desktop? Would updating Desktop to XP help (plan to do this soon anyway)?
What if I returned router & I got a USB wireless card for the Desktop. Would this do it? Would I need anything else like a Wireless Access Point (it sounds like what I already have)?

Do I know too little for you to help me??

I would like to understand this better - I'm actually pretty good at most computer related stuff. Any recommendations as to where to go, what to do, what to buy etc to educate myself?

Edited by sue472, 10 October 2005 - 12:04 PM.