Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

not-a-virus:AdWare.Win32.Maxifiles [RESOLVED]

• This topic is locked This topic is locked

bmsherrill

bmsherrill

• Pip
  • 5 posts
Howdy >>>

First thanks for looking/helping ... I'm a NASA electrical engineer with a daughter who IM's 24*7 ... Shoulda known better ... However, this new shiny Dell box collected 9 malware entities ... Cleansed 8 off through vigorous manipulations ... What remains may or may not be a problem - That's where I could use expert assistance.

At this point the use of (highly touted) "Kaspersky On-Line Scanner" results in one detection:
Infected = not-a-virus:AdWare.Win32.Maxifiles.m
Location = C:\System Volume Information\_restore{46DE8921-1D39-44D2-A9E9-64119261F211}\RP73\A0011963.exe

This looks like a problem to me, but please advise ... I have followed your multi-step process (several times if truth be told) ... Alas this "Maxifiles" item is resistant to removal ... Am tempted just to delete this exe file, but think I'll get your comment.

In other words all these overlapping checks now yield only this one 'notable' in this one 'scanner' ... Alrightie, will be standing by ... Night!

>>> Mark In Virginia :tazz:

Attached Files

Advertisements

greyknight17

greyknight17

Malware Expert

• Visiting Consultant
  • 16,560 posts
Hi Mark and welcome to GTG.