Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Firefox install

• Please log in to reply

deanbo

deanbo

• PipPip
  • 62 posts
I am running XP Pro with IE 6 and i would like to try Firefox instead.
I have downloaded it but not yet installed it as i thought i would check here for any potential probs or anything unusual that i need to know beforehand.

My PC is an AMD XP 2500 barton CPU with a K7 MSI mobo and 512mb DDR2700
and a 120 gig HDD.

I have only had a PC for a little over a year now and compared to most of you i'm a novice.I have installed and uninstalled plenty of things so i am OK with that usually.

So is there anything I need to know before i do it ? I realise that some sites still need IE,so will installing firefox uninstall IE ? Or can i have both ?
Will i damage IE at all by running firefox instead ? I've read of probs with IE repair and i could do without that.I have never done this before,so naturally i'm a bit apprehensive about it.But i'd really like to try it for myself.I am on dial-up and will firefox be slower than IE on dial-up ?I read about Opera as well and that sounds fast.I use this PC just for me with no LAN or bluetooth,just a single-user PC on dial-up and i only have a scanner,printer and a 128mb MP3 player that connects via USB,if that helps at all.
I've had a good read of past topics to see if this was already covered but couldn't find anything specific to my needs in there,so apologies if i'm going over old territory in advance,and all my thanks to anyone who helps. :tazz:

Advertisements

Cadence

Cadence

• PipPip