Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

DVD-ROM

• Please log in to reply

clkp

clkp

• PipPip
  • 11 posts
hello everyone.

I have a custom-made PC Windows XP Pro SP two speed 2500 hdd #1, 80 gig

This machine is clean:

The problem I am having is brand new I have never seen it before. And the tech people I know are
baffled. Maybe someone here can help.
I have a Liteon dvd rw and cd rw combo.everything works fine, I can play DVDs I have been using this rom for several months. In "my computer" Windows recognizes the drive as DVD rw drive F.however when I put in a BLANK DVD disc Windows changes the designation of the drive to cd drive f.this applies to any blank DVD disc I insert. At this point, Windows no longer recognizes the DVD and I cannot download anything to the DVD from my PC via Windows.

I have Nerorom burning and use it to burn DVDs with. And I don't have any trouble with that.why do I need to use Nero on all my burning applications even if I want to save something from my PC? When I first installed the liteon DVD RW Windows recognized it and I could at that time burn to it, any of the information that I wanted that was on my PC , for instance a full backup of my system.I even tried formatting the DVD, but to no avail.(used Nero for this).

So I guess the question is why is Windows changing the designation of my DVD rom to cd and preventing me from writing to my DVD-ROM.

Thank you: CLKP

Advertisements

Retired Tech

Retired Tech

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 20,563 posts