Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

"Limited to no Connectivity" error msg

• Please log in to reply

SLOLindsay

SLOLindsay

• Pip
  • 2 posts
I am seeing a lot of people with this problem, but unfortunately their fixes haven't worked for me yet. I ask for your patience and assistance, as I'm an amateur at this. :-)

I am running Windows XP with security pack 2 on a Compaq laptop. I have SBC internet service, a SpeedStream modem and a router (Linksys 802.11B).

I read the case study about sending and receiving packages, but I don't understand what I need to do to fix it.

I downloaded a patch (KB884020) to try to fix the "Limited or No Connectivity" problem, as well as a zip file called "SP2_connectivity_fix.ZIP" but that hasn't worked. On Add/Remove Programs, I cannot find a Windows hotfix called "Q815485" that some people say is causing the problem. If I can't find it, how can I remove it?

Someone suggested going into internet protocol under my wireless connection and resetting the IP Address and Subnet mask. How do I get there? Right clicking on the connection and going to "Properties" does not work -- it takes me to General and Wireless Networking tabs with no choices regarding IP addresses.

This is what came up when I pinged my router and reset my IP address (or tried to):

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
© Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\lindsay frederickson>ping 192.168.1.1

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=150