Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

SUSE 10.0

• Please log in to reply

Pi rules

Pi rules

• PipPipPip
  • 634 posts
I am probably going to install SUSE Linux 10.0 (after they finally finish downloading. I'm only 63 MB on CD #1. I'll probably end up installing next weekend because I'm too busy to download all the CDs this weekend.
Does anybody have an tips for installing it, or any opinions, because I don't want to download something that big for nothing. How newbie-friendly is it? I have some experience with Ubuntu, but that's it.

Advertisements

Dragon

Dragon

All Around Computer Nut

• Retired Staff
  • 2,682 posts
I first started with SuSe 9.3, it was easy to setup, put the disks in and run them.

now for the bad news :tazz:
unlike Ubuntu where you have free support coming out your ears, including an IRC chatroom, SuSe makes you pay for support, an doesn't have live support via IRC.

I dropped SuSe after 48 hours and went to Ubuntu because it had some issues with my hardware, specifically my cd drives. it would open them whenever it wanted to, it was like my machine was haunted.

thats the extent of help I can give on SuSe, Now I'm a Ubuntu fanatic :)

Edited by Efwis, 22 October 2005 - 06:07 PM.

Pi rules

Pi rules

• Topic Starter
  • PipPipPip
  • 634 posts