Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Just got a WGR614 Netgear router and need help

• Please log in to reply

brf4n

brf4n

• PipPip
  • 20 posts
Hello everyone,

As the topic says, I just got a WGR614 Netgear router. I'd like to know how to keep people from accessing my network.

Also, there is another router within range (the next house over), so how do I know my computer is accessing MY router and not the one across the street?

I'm really new to all of this so if I could get some help that would be great.

Thanks!

Advertisements

Kurt_Aust

Kurt_Aust

• PipPipPip
  • 129 posts
Of course the best security is just to use the wired portion, but failing that this is how I have mine set up, starting from the bottom.

UPnP: Disable (no point letting Trojans and others control internet access to your network)

Remote Management: Make sure it's off !!

Wireless Setup: Disable Wireless Access Point (for now)
. . . . . . . . . . . Disable SSID Broadcast
. . . . . . . . . . . Setup Wireless Access Card List
. . . . . . . . . . . Turn Access Control On
. . . . . . . . . . . Enter the MAC Addresses of every wireless interface card you intend to allow to access your network and give them a name.

LAN IP Setup: Reserve by MAC address low range IPs for your computers (192.168.0.2, 192.168.0.3, etc.)
. . . . . . . . . . Set the upper limit of the DHCP server to the highest number you have entered.

WAN Setup (these are all defaults): Auto Connect checked
. . . . . . . . . Disable SPI Firewall, DMZ Server & Respond to Ping unchecked