Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Pop up ads [RESOLVED]

• This topic is locked This topic is locked

trike1946

trike1946

• Pip
  • 5 posts
Hi. Newbie here. I don't know too much about computers. Usually I have to get my son involved but he now lives out of state. My problem is pop up ads. I seem to be burried in them. I have run ad aware and spy bot etc. over and over. They find problems and supposedly fix them, and in five minutes they are back. Can anyone help before I shoot the computer. I am willing to buy or subscribe to anything that will help. There must be some program that will get rid of them. Thanks for any help.

Advertisements

Buckeye_Sam

Buckeye_Sam

Malware Expert

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,019 posts
Hi and welcome to GeeksToGo! My name is Sam and I will be helping you. :tazz:

Please visit this page and scroll down to Step 5. Follow the instructions there to download a tool called Hijackthis and post a log here as a reply to this post.

trike1946

trike1946

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 6:33:27 PM, on 11/14/2005
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\csrss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\LEXBCES.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\LEXPPS.EXE