Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Cod2 MP must hate me


  • Please log in to reply

#1
AndyO

AndyO

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Hi.

im new here and full of hope :tazz:

I got CoD2 a while ago and am struggeling with the Multiplayer. At the beginning i couldnt even load the MP even though SP went perfectly fine. Now i got as far as beeing able to load MP, but to be able to do so, i have to deactivate my soundcontroller?! gaming without sound is a pain, so there gotta be another way to solve that. i hope.

then when in multiplayer i keep getting kicked out of the game when pressing the wrong button at the wrong time. i.e. whenever i want to hold my breath while sniping.. im back on my desktop.

Im using a Geforce fx go 5700 128 mb and found out in different forums that there lots of people with probs with the mobility grafics and cod2.

my soundcontroller is a conexant ac-link audio running on a intel 82801EB ICH5 chipset. i wasnt able to find any newer drivers for it, and have had troubles with my graficsdriver also.

i hope one of u guys has the all solving solution, but bits and pieces that bring me towards cod2mp frags will make my day xD

thanx in advance and keep up the good work helping all the people with less pc-skills!!!
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
jrm20

jrm20

    System building expert

  • Retired Staff
  • 2,394 posts
Give this a shot if you think this is your motherboard. (for sound)


http://developer.int...rc/rc_drive.htm

Edited by jrm20, 16 November 2005 - 05:59 PM.

  • 0

#3
AndyO

AndyO

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
thanks for the link, but it didnt seen to help (or i installed it wrong ?!)

anyway, i thought it might help if u guys can see my whole system.

heres the everest report of my pc (its in german, i hope u can guess what it would be in english :tazz: )

Computer:
Betriebssystem Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
OS Service Pack Service Pack 2
DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)
Computername ANDY (Andy's HP)

Motherboard:
CPU Typ Intel Pentium 4, 3200 MHz (16 x 200)
Motherboard Name Hewlett-Packard Pavilion zd7000 (PN604EA#ABD)
Motherboard Chipsatz Intel Springdale i865PE
Arbeitsspeicher 512 MB (PC2700 DDR SDRAM)
BIOS Typ Phoenix (10/14/04)
Anschlüsse (COM und LPT) ECP-Druckeranschluss (LPT1)

Anzeige:
Grafikkarte NVIDIA GeForce FX Go5700 (128 MB)
Grafikkarte NVIDIA GeForce FX Go5700 (128 MB)
3D-Beschleuniger nVIDIA GeForce FX Go5700
Monitor Plug und Play-Monitor [NoDB]

Multimedia:
Soundkarte Intel 82801EB ICH5 - AC'97 Audio Controller [A-2/A-3]

Datenträger:
IDE Controller Intel® 82801EB Ultra ATA Storage Controllers
SCSI/RAID Controller ENE PCI Memory Card Reader Controller
Festplatte IC25N080ATMR04-0 (80 GB, 4200 RPM, Ultra-ATA/100)
Optisches Laufwerk HL-DT-ST DVD-RW GWA-4080N (DVD+RW:8x/4x, DVD-RW:8x/4x, DVD-ROM:8x, CD:16x/10x/24x DVD+RW/DVD-RW)
S.M.A.R.T. Festplatten-Status OK

Partitionen:
C: (NTFS) 76308 MB (52504 MB frei)

Eingabegeräte:
Tastatur Quick Launch Buttons
Maus Microsoft IntelliMouse Web (USB)
Maus Synaptics PS/2 Port TouchPad

Netzwerk:
Netzwerkkarte Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN
Netzwerkkarte Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC
Modem Conexant 56K ACLink Modem

Peripheriegeräte:
USB1 Controller Intel 82801EB ICH5 - USB Controller [A-2/A-3]
USB1 Controller Intel 82801EB ICH5 - USB Controller [A-2/A-3]
USB1 Controller Intel 82801EB ICH5 - USB Controller [A-2/A-3]
USB2 Controller Intel 82801EB ICH5 - Enhanced USB2 Controller [A-2/A-3]
USB-Geräte Microsoft IntelliMouse Web (USB)
Akku Microsoft ACPI-konforme Kontrollmethodenbatterie
Akku Microsoft-Netzteil


hope someone out there can find any updates that might help me.. ive been looking for ages and cant find anything.

Thanks!

Edited by AndyO, 18 November 2005 - 11:39 AM.

  • 0

#4
starjax

starjax

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 6,591 posts
well you can go to control panel, sounds, and set the hw acceleration to basic and see if that helps (straight from acitivision support).

since your running the mobile version... I would try tweaking your system. especially by using the autoexec trick:

first here is an excellent tweaking guide: http://www.tweakguides.com/COD2_1.html
more for nvidia users: http://www.nvnews.ne...ead.php?t=59144
the nvnews link is a must for cod 2 in my opinion. many cvar settings that normally are in the mpconfig aren't staying. its as if cod2 resets the config to default everytime. Its worked wonders for me.


now as to the video drivers:
guru3d
Tested this driver on my work laptop successfully.

Edited by starjax, 19 November 2005 - 04:54 AM.

  • 0

#5
AndyO

AndyO

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
nothing seems to help so im gonna end up spending my x-mas bonus on a new gaming pc.. not the worst way to spend the money x)

thanks for the help!
  • 0

#6
starjax

starjax

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 6,591 posts
well you will certainly be pleased with the ability of your new system. the games will look and perform much better.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP