Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

External HDD won't work

• Please log in to reply

CFC Lucy

CFC Lucy

• Pip
  • 7 posts
I am no techie but was quite pleased with myself when I dismantled an old laptop, put the drive in an enclosure and it all worked fine.

I have 3 computers at work, all XP. A desktop and a laptop and a really old Compaq that I use twice per annum for running Alpha 4 stuff (I am a Luddite!).

Today was the first time I have tried to use the External HDD on the old Compaq. I plugged it in and it said something about not haveing a fast USB. I clicked ok and off it whirred. When I now try to transfer the data from the drive to either my desktop or laptop, the drive won't work. It still works on the old Compaq though.

Anybody know what I sholud do to try and resolve this please?

Advertisements

Vaillant

Vaillant

• PipPipPip
  • 495 posts
Hmm this one's odd.. I have an external drive myself, 3.5" one though...

Umm well i've used it at 1 computer with slower USB, but my drive still worked...

Did you set the drive as Master? Cause if you didnt, the Compaq may have taken it in as a Slave, and done something to it...

computerwiz12890

computerwiz12890

Fixer-upper guy

• Retired Staff
  • 1,802 posts
Hello CFC Lucy and welcome to Geeks to Go.