Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Custom Comp

• Please log in to reply

jorben31

jorben31

• PipPip
  • 15 posts
Hello Everybody,
I am building a custom computer, and i am purchasing all parts from www.newegg.com This is my final version of my comp which will be used for gaming/somewhat of a home computer. It is somewhat of a budget build too, and i am a first time computer builder. i have read reviews on all components and have checked compatibilty, but is still have questions on my mobo and i would like if anyone would take a double check of the compatibility of the components.

1.(MoBo) DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
-I have read a review that this mobo is tricky and is not a good buy for beginner builders.
-I also read that this card does not perform well with low quality RAM, is my RAM sufficient?

2. (Case) COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 CAC-T05-UW Black Aluminum Bezel, SECC Chassis ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
-x1 120mm fan, and x1 80mm fan

3. (H.D.) Maxtor DiamondMax 10 6B200R0 200GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA133 Hard Drive

4. (RAM) CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit System Memory

5. (PSU) Antec TRUEPOWERII TPII-550 ATX12V 550W Power Supply 115/230 V UL, TUV, CB, FCC CLASS B, CUL
-SLi ready

6. (Processor) AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Venice 1GHz FSB 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor

7. (V.C.) eVGA 256-P2-N386 Geforce 6800GS 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card
-I'm buying one now, the going SLi later.