Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

building new pc

• Please log in to reply

joybz

joybz

• PipPipPip
  • 106 posts
HELP
Im new to building computers and im a little stumped im not sure what case, psu and motherboard would be the most suitable. This is what i have so far: (PCI-Express base)

Processor= amd 64 3200+
Graphics Card= radeon x800 gto 256 PCI-E
Memory= 1gig 2x512 corsair 512mb pc3200
HDD= ? 80-120 gig maybe

Any help would be much appreciated tks.

Advertisements

warriorscot

warriorscot

Member 5k

• Retired Staff
  • 8,889 posts
looks fine i would go with a 200 gig HD(best value for money at 200gig) and make sure you get a venice core CPU. Motherboard, anything from the Nforce 4 or ATI200 chipset range from MSI,ABIT,ASUS,Gigabyte. Just pick something out and put it in here and we will look and tell you if it is the right thing to buy.

joybz

joybz

• Topic Starter
  • PipPipPip
  • 106 posts
im from UK so not sure if parts will have any big differences?
aside from the price :tazz:

Found this motherboard.
http://www.dabs.com/...electedId=11143

warriorscot

warriorscot

Member 5k

• Retired Staff
  • 8,889 posts
Well im UK as you can see from the loacation bit below my avatar. Wouldnt go Dabs they can be expensive, try overclockers and ebuyer they are the best ebuyer is cheap and overclockers has the selection and a site that actually works. Alot of things are cheaper here or would be if not for exorbitant VAT and exchange rate.