Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Laptop keeps shuttingdown

• Please log in to reply

MizzLi

MizzLi

• PipPip
  • 78 posts
Hi! I would be really grateful if someone could give me some advice or idea as to what is wrong with my laptop.

Just recently my laptop seems to be making a loud noise, I'm not very good with laptops so I don't know what it is. Apparently its the fan, it seems to be working well but it keeps overheating and shutting itself down and the top part of my keyboard near the screen is very hot most of the times.

I am not covering the fan so it can breathe and my laptop is 1 year and 3 months old. Apart from it mysteriously shutting down, everything else seems to be fine. Does anyone know how to minimise its activities so it gets hot less? I tend to leave my laptop on for a long time.

Thanks in advance!

MizzLi :tazz:

Advertisements

sleepyboy

sleepyboy

• PipPip
  • 10 posts
I'm still waiting for a reply to one of my posts, but while I do that I will tell you this:

...go ahead and get it checked out. You should't be feeling the extra heat on the keyboard, and if it's shutting down this indicates a pretty serious overheating problem. It may be that your fan needs replacing, and having a fan or heatsink on your CPU replaced is a lot less of a pain than having a hard drive or entire laptop replaced.