Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

I'm going to build my first computer

• Please log in to reply

This Will Work

This Will Work

• Pip
  • 1 posts
I'm trying to put together a system for under $1000 (It is, but just barely). I've never done this before, but after viewing a few random sites this is what I've come up with.

Basically will this system work with itself? Are the parts compatable? Is this enough to be able to play games for a few years (Considering that the most intensive game I have now is Civ 4)? Is this enough power? Did I forget anything? Have I left enough room to expand into a second HD and more RAM later (I think so)? Is there anyplace I should consider picking a new component? I have no idea how many USB ports this gives me (I know there's at least two in the front of the case).. (All of these parts are from newegg.com, though I may not actually buy from there).

Processor
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Processor Model ADA3200BPBOX - Retail
Model #: ADA3200BPBOX

Motherboard
MSI K8N Neo4-F Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
Model #: K8N Neo4-F

Graphics Card
SAPPHIRE 100139L Radeon X800GTO 128MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 FireBlade Edition Video Card - Retail
Model #: 100139L

RAM (x2)
mushkin SP3200 512MB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered System Memory Model 991093 - Retail
Model #: 991093

Case:
RAIDMAX Horizon ATX-287WB Black SECC Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail
Model #: ATX-287WB

Extra Cooling:
Dynatron DF128025BC 80mm 2 Ball DC Brushless Fan - Retail