Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Help! New Gateway and Problems.

• Please log in to reply

bug2

bug2

• PipPip
  • 41 posts
I am a total novice, so be gentle.

I purchased a new Gateway Dual with WIndows XP Home. I installed on dial up AOL Limited top speed, which came in the computer. I have contacted Gateway support and they have given me several things to do and none worked, plus they are confusing for a novice.

First, when I click off AOL, the computer restarts. At first it wasn't all the time, but now it almost is. AOL files updating comes on after each time too.
They told me to update the driver and uninstall AOL and reinstall. My system has system recovery built in, so I only had to go to Application and driver recovery. I did this and it still would restart after closing AOL. Then this popped up. Mhotkey.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the incovenience. If you were in the middle of something it may be lost. Also, once failed to load Fixlet site. BigFix unsubscribing from site.

Gateway told me to run a disk check and didn't tell me how, I figured it out. I had to restart my computer to do it.
I did and when it came back on, mHotkey was still there. This is frustrating since this is a new computer.
Please help in as simple terms as possible. Thank you.

Advertisements

bug2

bug2

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts