Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Problem with virus' in my processes

• Please log in to reply

Christian1984

Christian1984

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Recently my laptop has been running slowly. I am a musician and use 'Proppellerheads Reason' a lot. Usual when I compose songs the processor usage bar goes up to around 3 or 4 bars out of 10 at the most. Now though, it goes all the way up, stops and says the computer isn't powerful enough to play the song!

I think has to do with unnecessary processes running (For example, I found a number of copies of svchost.exe running). I looked on this site to see what some of the processes actually were, and found that a number of them are put there by trogans.

I run the free versions of 'AVG anti-virus' and 'Ad-Aware' respectively, but they don't seem to be finding any viruses. I also installed 'TroganHunter', but that didn't find any trogans either. I really don't know what else to do to clean my computer up apart from refomatting it, which I want to avoid.

The spec of my laptop is:
Athlon64 2400+
1gb RAM
ATi mobility radeon 9600 graphics card
80gb hard drive.

Can anyone help me out?
Christian.

Edited by Christian1984, 21 December 2005 - 07:51 AM.

Advertisements

Numb Remxed

Numb Remxed

• PipPipPip
  • 490 posts
first of all, this is a good site to get some information about your processes: http://www.processlibrary.com/