Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

My home-built system wont boot

• Please log in to reply

Scar42399

Scar42399

• Pip
  • 5 posts
OK here goes ... im not an expert but I have taken my computer apart enough to think I could put one together. Guess not. I bought all the parts through various resources (mostly Newegg) and planned on putting it together for Christmas. Fat chance cause It wont boot at all.

Parts:
Aspire X-Infinity case with 420w psu
Asus K8N-E motherboard
Athlon 64 3200+ socket 754 processor
Arctic-Cooling Silencer 64 cpu fan

now heres the problem when I turn the system on it brings up the motherboard view for a few secs then the system just turns itself off. I have gotten a cpu fan error twice .. if the cpu lets it get that far, so ive checked the fan a couple of time and it seems to be seated well, and lights up and spins for the couple of secs. that the comp is on for. Ive had a friend check all the conections and everything appears to be connected properly but the system still turns off after a few secs mostly with no error messages. Im going to try and replace the fan tomarrow and see if its a strange compatability issue. If anyone has anyother ideas id love to hear them. Thanks

Advertisements

makai

makai

Portlock - Oahu

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,793 posts
Does your power supply fan shut off also? Or is only the CPU fan shutting off? Is the CPU fan connected to the correct motherboard fan header?