Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Installing new Software

• Please log in to reply

shel2004

shel2004

• PipPip
  • 64 posts
I am new to computers so excuse me if this sounds like a trivial question. I just bought a digital camera. When I went to install the software it said the following.

Your computers characteristics are Windows 98(4.10.1998)
Internet Explorer 6.0
Display settings:1024*768*16
Photo Tags has the following minimun requirements:
Windows 98 SP1
Internet Explorer: 0.00
Display settings: 800*600*8
So what does all that mean? What should I do now and am I stuck with a piece of software that will never be able to be installed on my computer? Any help/answer to this question would be greatly appreciated.

Advertisements

Retired Tech

Retired Tech

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 20,563 posts
Click start then Windows Update, if there are a lot of them, (you only need the critical ones), then retry installing the camera software after updating if it does not run.

shel2004

shel2004

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
I tried doing this but when I went to install again I am getting the same message.

Retired Tech

Retired Tech

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 20,563 posts
Did Update have any updates

Murray S.

Murray S.

Trusted Tech

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,513 posts
  • MVP

YOUR SETUP

Internet Explorer 6.0
Display settings:1024*768*16

PHOTOTAGS REQUIREMENTS

Photo Tags has the following minimun requirements:
Windows 98 SP1
Internet Explorer: 0.00
Display settings: 800*600*8