Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

system freeze up

• Please log in to reply

em-j

em-j

• PipPip
  • 21 posts
Okay, first, I am not good at this, so I really need step by step help. I provide free advocacy services to patients with chronic disease, and I'm willing to barter if someone is willing to help me.

I started out fine this morning. Then I got a usual bubble that said there were Windows updates and I ran them as always, rebooted, and after that, I'm a basket case. I did not accept Windows updates from anybody but Windows. It looked exactly like every other Windows update I've ever gotten.

Anyway, I get the error message "Windows Explorer needs to close, sorry for the inconvenience." I press "don't send" the error message to Microsoft. This happens 3 times. The 4th time, the message is Dr. Watson Postmortem Debugger needs to close, sorry for the inconvenience," and then the computer shuts down on its own.

I went into safe mode and tried system restore. No go. I'm currently doing a full system virus scan in safe mode. I tried to go onto Symantec's website in safe mode, but every time I got to the website, Internet Explorer closed immediately.

Assuming I finish the full system scan without any virus being picked up -- and that seems to be the case since it's almost finished and hasn't found anything, what next?