Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Why won't my comp. start?

• Please log in to reply

jorben31

jorben31

• PipPip
  • 15 posts
HI everybody,
I bought an Antec TRUEPOWERII TPII-480 BLUE ATX12V 480W Power Supply from newegg.com and an ABIT KN8 Ultra Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard. I'm a first time builder but when i got everything hooked up and start the thing, nothing happens. The PSU was on and hooked up so i don't think it was that. My case has 5 fans though (2x 90mm; 3x 80mm), but i figured that my PSU could power that. So eventually i made my way to www.abit-usa.com and checked the compatibility of PSU w/ the motherboard. The PSU I have was not listed as compatible. But under some reviews at newegg.com, people were running Antec PSU's.
I figure that a PSU should be able to power a 24 pin board since it has a 24pin power connector, but im a noob at building computers so i don't know wat to look for. Does anybody have any idea on whats going on. I'll answer any question u have.

Advertisements

dsenette

dsenette

Je suis Napoléon!

• Community Leader
  • 26,047 posts
  • MVP
well..the motherboard has a 24 pin power connector right? that's 24 pins in one spot right? the psu is an atx12v...which has 20 pins on one block..and a seperate 4 pin connector.... usually the atx12v psu's go with the same kind of mobo..where there's 20 pin connector on one spot of the board and another 4 port conector somewhere else.... you can get atx12v (ie 20+4) converters that will allow you to use this psu correctly

jorben31