Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

modem keeps losing connection

• Please log in to reply

dustbegone1xyz

dustbegone1xyz

• PipPip
  • 47 posts
Hello. I'm new to this site. And I am a newbie with troubleshooting. I am having trouble with my modem. It keeps losing connection. I'll be online one minute and off the next. Most of the time I have to shut off the modem and then turn it back on. Then I can get back on again. We have a Speedstream 5100. And we use SBC DSL. We've called them as well and they have us log in manually and use their SBC help tool. But that darn thing can't seem to help us either. Sometimes it will tell us that we are connected. Other times it will tell us to reset the modem. We do this but it's just a temp. fix. Why is this happening? Can someone tell me how to locate the problem? I've checked for viruses, spyware and so on and can't find anything. We have Windows XP. I'm not sure what other info. you need to know about my computer to help me out.

Advertisements

tom_beach22

tom_beach22

• PipPipPip
  • 107 posts
i'm having the same problem!!!, ill let you know if i can fix it.

Dan

Dan

Trusted Tech

• Retired Staff
  • 1,771 posts
Hi dustbegone1xyz and welcome to GeeksToGo!

Please goto Start --> Run --> type EVENTVWR --> press OK --> Now, look under the System log for any errors and/or warnings. If you find a TCP/IP error, please open it by double clicking on it. Is the error message inside identical to this:
TCP/IP has reached the security limit imposed on the number of concurrent TCP connect attempts.