Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

DVD?

• Please log in to reply

trotts

trotts

• PipPip
  • 12 posts
hello!

I'm not really good at all of this so please be patient! lol! (boy am I really riding the stereotype here! yes i'm a girl)
My cousin recently gave me his computer, he fixed it all up for me and it's running great. I noticed I have a DVD RW installed. An old one - Pioneer DVD-RW DVR 104. I tried playing a normal dvd movie in it and it works fine. But a friend of mine has a website in the UK and there are some homemovies of parties and other family stuff that we can download. I was wondering if my DVD -RW would be able to burn (is that it...burn??) those movies so I can watch on my regular home dvd player? I was told that it might not be able too?

thanks you for your help in advance!

:tazz:

Advertisements

warriorscot

warriorscot

Member 5k

• Retired Staff
  • 8,889 posts
You can burn it, and depending on the format you should be able to burn and watch it(use nero to burn it). If the stuff is in iso images as in ready to be burned onto a video dvd(dont think it would be) then you wont be able to as it will be set up for use on a uk television which has about a 100 extra lines compared to a US tv, but it will probably be mpeg or avi files which you should be able to easily burn and watch.

trotts

trotts

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
wow!! that was quick! :)

ok so I can use that Pioneer one and burn. excellent!