Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

System 32 File Opens at Start Up & Links don't work in IE

• Please log in to reply

BriteOne

BriteOne

• PipPip
  • 11 posts
:) Newbie here... I am about to throw my extremely slow computer out the window. Oh wait.. I can't afford a new one, better save it....

Every time I turn on my computer my SYSTEM32 Folder opens. Then, in internet explorer any link that is clicked locks up the entire machine and I have to close the program. I have ran SpySheriff and deleted all adware and spyware it said I had, but it didn't fix the problem. Anyone out there care to help me figure this one out?

Thanks!!
:tazz: Embarrassed for not knowing what to do next.

Annie :)

Advertisements

waynescheffler

waynescheffler

• PipPip
  • 21 posts
Assuming you have windows XP
This behavior can occur if a null, incomplete, or damaged entry exists in the registry.
The system32 folder will open on boot if a incorrect or corrupted entry is in the
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
or
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
registry key
or
if you have a corrupted link in you start>programs>startup folder.

The first thing to do is create a restore point start>help and support>Undo changes to your computer with System Restore. Select "Create a resore point"

Then to fix the problem. Start>run type in msconfig press enter key
click on the startup tab and look for any blank entries or entries that only have one " in them in the command column.
Uncheck any that do.