Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

DVD Authoring will not work

• Please log in to reply

magusbuckley

magusbuckley

• PipPipPip
  • 626 posts
Hello:

I work in the IT industry and can't tell you how many users have asked, "Why doesn't it just work?" Today, for the first time in a long time, I'm asking myself the same question. I'm really having trouble creating a DVD. I created a slideshow video with Microsoft's PhotoStory 3 program. I moved the project into Windows Movie Maker to add even more special effects. Afterwards, I used an authoring program--Intervideo DVD Creator-- to put the movie on DVD. The only player I've found that will play that DVD is a player my mother has. That player has the DVD-R logo on it's face. That wasn't going to work for me because I want friends and family to see the video. It will have to work a large variety of players. I tried a demo version of a second program, ULEAD Movie Factory 4, and hoped for the best. The DVD created with this program only had audio on the main menu. Audio cut out when the actual movie started playing. I tried a third program. This was another demo program from ULEAD--DVD Workshop 2. The previous programs converted and burned my movie in less than an hour. The burned movie took up almost a quarter of the disk. Workshop 2, however, took fifteen hours to convert and burn the video. The file created with this program took up almost half of the 4.7 GB DVD-R. The video had audio this time, even the movie portion of the disk, but the transition from picture to picture was always a bl