Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Windows XP Tweak

• Please log in to reply

AlekNoStar

AlekNoStar

• PipPip
  • 33 posts
Hey, i am a musician and have made my computer my home studio. When i am using VST sometimes my CPU is at the edge of overloading so i was wondering what could i do to tweak my Windows. Here's what i got...

Sound card: MAUDIO Delta 66
GATEWAY 505GH Intel®
Pentium® 4 CPU 3.00GHz
3.00GHz, 0,99 GB of ram

I've already checked my computer for spywares and viruses. This is not the issue... i wanna know what can i do to make my computer faster...

Thanks!

Advertisements

Retired Tech

Retired Tech

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 20,563 posts
Increase the amount of Ram memory

Set virtual memory to system managed

AlekNoStar

AlekNoStar

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
Alright, can you give me a step to step how to do that?

Retired Tech

Retired Tech

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 20,563 posts
Click start then right click my computer, click properties, advanced, click settings for performance, click advanced, click change for virtual memory, put the dot in system managed, click set, click apply, reboot

This is optional but should improve things

Click start then all programmes, accessories, system tools to run disc clean up, then also from system tools, run disc defragmenter

Click start then run, type prefetch then press enter, click edit then select all, (all files will highlight), right click any file, click delete, confirm then reboot.

Download, install and run
Tune Up 2006 Trial