Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Computer Problems


  • Please log in to reply

#1
MariusCarlia

MariusCarlia

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts
Hi, I've been having these problems ever since I got my new ASUS mobo and CPU, which I've had for 3 months now.

I have a number of problems actually.

1. When I play games the screen sometimes goes black and the sound loops as the screen resolution of my desktop changes to the screen resolution of the game I'm playing the resumes playing.

Other times, after the resolution changes as before, the screen doesn't go back to the game but stays black as the game is obviously continuing because of the sound doesn't cotinue looping and goes as normal. In these times I found out that DirectX carps out and I can't play another game without first restarting the computer.

I have to note that during those times the computer isn't doing something that requires a lot of CPU power. in fact it does it at random and usually in the least intensive part of the game, like walking around doing nothing. Also I found out that if I'm playing a multiplayer game, like CSS, my ping spikes during the time listed above.

Sometimes, after the resolution changes the game crashes and ATI gives me a error message. Something about the "something" not responding and having to restart something on the videocard.

2. There is texture ripping while I'm playing Rome: Total War but the resolution does NOT resize on my desktop and it very rarely causes my computer to restart.

3. While I'm listening to music the sound blips and clips shortly while files load online or something.

4. When I open Word or Photoshop my computer shuts down or restarts after a few seconds of working with the programs.

5. On rare occasions the computer just randomly restarts for no reason.

A friend told me that it could be the Kama Sutra worm but I don't open ANY emails that I don't know who they are from and also I've had these problems ever since I got my new mobo and CPU.

My computer specs: AMD Athlon™ 64 Processor 3000+ 1.80 GHz
768 MB of RAM
ATI Radeon 9600 XT



It might be a virus, so I'm giving my HijackThis log but I seriously doubt it because I've had this problem from the first day I started my computer with my new CPU and Mobo.



Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 4:13:41 PM, on 03/02/2006
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Sygate\SPF\smc.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSetMgr.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SPBBC\SPBBCSvc.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTSvcCDA.EXE
C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\IWP\NPFMntor.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\CCPD-LC\symlcsvc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\MsPMSPSv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe
C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\jusched.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTHELPER.EXE
C:\Program Files\Strokeit\strokeit.exe
C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\msnmsgr.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
C:\Program Files\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.japantimes.com/
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyOverride = localhost
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: SSVHelper Class - {761497BB-D6F0-462C-B6EB-D4DAF1D92D43} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\ssv.dll
O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Helper - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar2.dll
O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar2.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccApp] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Symantec NetDriver Monitor] C:\PROGRA~1\SYMNET~1\SNDMon.exe /Consumer
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\jusched.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SmcService] C:\PROGRA~1\Sygate\SPF\smc.exe -startgui
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Cmaudio] RunDll32 cmicnfg.cpl,CMICtrlWnd
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WINDVDPatch] CTHELPER.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [UpdReg] C:\WINDOWS\UpdReg.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Jet Detection] "C:\Program Files\Creative\SBLive\PROGRAM\ADGJDet.exe"
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [StrokeIt] C:\Program Files\Strokeit\strokeit.exe
O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10\OSA.EXE
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmsearch.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Translate English Word - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmwordtrans.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward Links - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmbacklinks.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Cached Snapshot of Page - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmcache.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O8 - Extra context menu item: Similar Pages - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmsimilar.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate Page into English - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmtrans.html
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\ssv.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\ssv.dll
O9 - Extra button: ATI TV - {44226DFF-747E-4edc-B30C-78752E50CD0C} - C:\Program Files\ATI Multimedia\dtv\EXPLBAR.DLL
O9 - Extra button: Yahoo! Messenger - {E5D12C4E-7B4F-11D3-B5C9-0050045C3C96} - C:\PROGRA~1\Yahoo!\MESSEN~1\YPager.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Yahoo! Messenger - {E5D12C4E-7B4F-11D3-B5C9-0050045C3C96} - C:\PROGRA~1\Yahoo!\MESSEN~1\YPager.exe
O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
O16 - DPF: {6E32070A-766D-4EE6-879C-DC1FA91D2FC3} (MUWebControl Class) - http://update.micros...b?1132288175687
O16 - DPF: {B38870E4-7ECB-40DA-8C6A-595F0A5519FF} (MsnMessengerSetupDownloadControl Class) - http://messenger.msn...pDownloader.cab
O18 - Protocol: msnim - {828030A1-22C1-4009-854F-8E305202313F} - "C:\PROGRA~1\MSNMES~1\msgrapp.dll" (file missing)
O23 - Service: Ati HotKey Poller - ATI Technologies Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
O23 - Service: ATI Smart - Unknown owner - C:\WINDOWS\system32\ati2sgag.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Event Manager (ccEvtMgr) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Password Validation (ccPwdSvc) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccPwdSvc.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Settings Manager (ccSetMgr) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSetMgr.exe
O23 - Service: Creative Service for CDROM Access - Creative Technology Ltd - C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTSvcCDA.EXE
O23 - Service: InstallDriver Table Manager (IDriverT) - Macrovision Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\InstallShield\Driver\11\Intel 32\IDriverT.exe
O23 - Service: iPodService - Apple Computer, Inc. - C:\Program Files\iPod\bin\iPodService.exe
O23 - Service: Norton AntiVirus Auto-Protect Service (navapsvc) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
O23 - Service: Norton AntiVirus Firewall Monitor Service (NPFMntor) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\IWP\NPFMntor.exe
O23 - Service: Pml Driver HPZ12 - HP - C:\WINDOWS\system32\HPZipm12.exe
O23 - Service: SAVScan - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\SAVScan.exe
O23 - Service: ScriptBlocking Service (SBService) - Symantec Corporation - C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\SYMANT~1\SCRIPT~1\SBServ.exe
O23 - Service: Sygate Personal Firewall Pro (SmcService) - Sygate Technologies, Inc. - C:\Program Files\Sygate\SPF\smc.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Network Drivers Service (SNDSrvc) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SNDSrvc.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec SPBBCSvc (SPBBCSvc) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SPBBC\SPBBCSvc.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Core LC - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\CCPD-LC\symlcsvc.exe



The picture attached is what happened when I was on a McDonald's site, just curious to see what kind of food they served in other countries and I was surprised about what I found. But I digress, here it is. If you notice the gray areas extend from top to bottom, not just the webpage.


I removed the attachment because it showed your email-address.

Edited by Metallica, 07 February 2006 - 01:37 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#2
MariusCarlia

MariusCarlia

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts
I also want to say that when I mean that the computer shuts down, I mean that the fans are still working, except that the HDD and CPU seem to just not respond until I click the restart button on my case. Also it did that when I was on this site, RIGHT after I posted the topic and closed the window.
  • 0

#3
MariusCarlia

MariusCarlia

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts
Also, just recently, while I'm just ony my desktop, my screen freezes, then goes on sleep mode, then comes back to normal.

While it's black or frozen I can still type and listen to music fine and when it comes back to normal it'll show what I've done while it was frozen.

And just recently, a few seconds ago, my screen went straight to sleep mode, while music and everything else was still working fine. Only that I couldn't see it. I could still type, because I typed a message to a friend about it being black, hoping that I had the right window. Then I had to restart because the screen didn't "wake up" like before.
  • 0

#4
MariusCarlia

MariusCarlia

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts
I also found a problem. After a few tests I found out that if I move a window around, you know, grabbing it at the top and just sliding it across the monitor or something, my computer restarts. Yes, it restarts when I try to move a window around. I just did this as a test and it restarted with no problem LOL.

Oh, I also found that error that ATI gives me that I told you about. Here is the picture.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Error.JPG

  • 0

#5
MariusCarlia

MariusCarlia

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts
[bleep] it, I keep on forgetting to put this in every time. So here it goes. I found out that my computer seems to freeze for a second before continuing. It happens when I'm watching a video, it freezes at 30 second or minute intervals, I'm not sure which. Maybe that will help.

I think that my videocard is the problem but I don't know. Never the less I'm going to buy a new one and if the problems persist I'll just return it and get my money back. However I would really like to know what COULD be wrong.

I know it's hard to determine what IS wrong, so could someone give me a clue to what COULD be wrong?

Thank you very much. And sorry for all of these messages, I'm a scatterbrain.
  • 0

#6
Metallica

Metallica

    Spyware Veteran

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 31,676 posts
Hi MariusCarlia,

Although at first sight I agree with you that the problem is your graphices card or at least realted to it, there are some things we can try.

Check the following items in HijackThis.
Close all windows except HijackThis and click Fix checked:

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\jusched.exe

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WINDVDPatch] CTHELPER.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [UpdReg] C:\WINDOWS\UpdReg.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Jet Detection] "C:\Program Files\Creative\SBLive\PROGRAM\ADGJDet.exe"

O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10\OSA.EXE

Then reboot and check if that helps.

Regards,
  • 0

#7
Metallica

Metallica

    Spyware Veteran

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 31,676 posts
Before I forget it and can't find it back. :tazz:

I found this site, which looks useful for you:
http://www.foxpop.co...vpurecover.html

Regards,
  • 0

#8
MariusCarlia

MariusCarlia

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts

Before I forget it and can't find it back. :tazz:

I found this site, which looks useful for you:
http://www.foxpop.co...vpurecover.html

Regards,


What is the website about?
  • 0

#9
MariusCarlia

MariusCarlia

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts

Hi MariusCarlia,

Although at first sight I agree with you that the problem is your graphices card or at least realted to it, there are some things we can try.

Check the following items in HijackThis.
Close all windows except HijackThis and click Fix checked:

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\jusched.exe

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WINDVDPatch] CTHELPER.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [UpdReg] C:\WINDOWS\UpdReg.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Jet Detection] "C:\Program Files\Creative\SBLive\PROGRAM\ADGJDet.exe"

O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10\OSA.EXE

Then reboot and check if that helps.

Regards,


LOL We don't have to worry about that anymore. I reformated, oh by the way, my ASUS mobo has a VGA driver that I installed from the CD. Could that conflict with the videocard?
  • 0

#10
Metallica

Metallica

    Spyware Veteran

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 31,676 posts

What is the website about?


About possible cures for the error you posted a screenshot off. :tazz:
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
MariusCarlia

MariusCarlia

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts
Ah, but before I use that. I'm wondering. My when I installed the drivers for my mobo it also had a VGA driver. I was wondering if it could be conflicting with my videocard.
  • 0

#12
Metallica

Metallica

    Spyware Veteran

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 31,676 posts
I have moved your thread to the Hardware forum.
The specialists here are far better equipped to help you with that, then I am.

Regards,
  • 0

#13
dsenette

dsenette

    Je suis Napoléon!

  • Administrator
  • 26,019 posts
  • MVP
does your motherboard have onboard video as well? if so disable that in the bios...after doing that update your ati drivers to the most recent version
  • 0

#14
p-zero

p-zero

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 276 posts
Yeah Id say uninstall the asus drivers and just plug in the ATi ones. And believe it or not I run CSS, COD2, with none of the problems stated above, I used to get the black screen techno with my old GForce3, got a new 256 card works great. When I re-installed I didnt use ANY of the supplied DELL stuff. Only what came with the product. Went to their website d'led all of the current drivers, works even better now.
-Pete.
  • 0

#15
gerryf

gerryf

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • 11,365 posts
did I miss the motherboard model?

download Everest Home

http://www.geekstogo...tion=show&id=13

unzip it, install it, and then save a report and ATTACH it to your next post
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP