Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

netsetup.exe not supported on 2000

• Please log in to reply

poiuyt

poiuyt

• Pip
  • 3 posts
hi all

im a newbie here so forgive me if this seems simple to you guys ..

i have been atttempting to use the networking wizard on a win xp machine to set up a file sharing connection mshome between it and a win 2000 machine

at the moment both computers are connected to the internet via a router and an isp assigned static ip address ( thus both machines are assigned dynamic ip address i think?)

anyhoo ....when i try to run the .exe file created by the networking wizard on the win 2000 machine i find that it is not supported by win 2000.

i have tried to set up the win 2000 machine manually ie changing the group name to mshome and this seemed to work ... i get the message on 2000 machine " welcome to mshome" happy days .... but there is still problems

when i "search for workgroup computers" each computer only lists itself under mshome .
pinging from each computer to the router is fine however pinging between computers gives the message " request timed out "

perhaps i have neglected to complete some steps i am not sure .

any suggestions would be appreciated.
thankyou.

Advertisements

dsenette

dsenette

Je suis Napoléon!

• Community Leader
  • 26,047 posts
  • MVP