Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Intermittent problem with certain urls

• Please log in to reply

beasuccess

beasuccess

• Pip
  • 4 posts
Hi everyone, hope I'm in the right Forum!

I've come here hoping somebody can help me with an intermittent problem I'm having viewing certain urls.

I'm not very technically minded, and I hope you can understand my problem. Here goes:

My computer sometimes will, and sometimes won't, let me view particular urls (they are hosted on the domain name of a program I am a member of, and I won't post the url unless it necessary, I'm not here to 'recruit' anyone!)

If I remove the www. part of the url I can access some of the previously unviewable pages, but not all of them.

I've got a feeling Norton Internet Security is the cause of it, but I don't know how. I haven't changed any settings, and the problem is intermittent.

(Having browsed around here for a while it seems that Norton is not as good as I thought, hmm??)

I don't know if the following is relevant, but I'm running Windows 98 and using Firefox browser. This has only been happening over the last week or so, and there's also the possibility of one other person I know having the same type of problem viewing these particular urls (she is also using Norton, if it helps).

Like I said, I'm not very good with comps and hope I've explained it clearly enough.

Hoping somebody can help,

Jayne

Advertisements

james_8970

james_8970

Trusted Tech

• Retired Staff
  • 5,084 posts
hello and welcoem to geekstogo,