Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Intel desktop utilities with Intel Active Monitor fail to run/execute.

• Please log in to reply

howell414

howell414

• PipPip
  • 23 posts
Hello you guys!!! Im kind of new to this computer stuff, so I dont have much background.

Im having this problem about one of my desktop programs. It all started after i installed Microsoft .Net Framework 1.1 and ATI's Catalyst Control Center 6.1 . After installing both programs, Intel Desktop Uitilities w/ Active Monitor won't or fail to launch.

Then I get this message: " Tray program for Intel Desktop Utilities has encountered a problem
and needs to close."

I then viewed the error report which looked like this:

Data Error Report: Error Signature

AppName: iptray.exe AppVer: 2.0.8.35 ModName: kernel32.dll
ModVer: 5.1.2600.2180 OFFset: 0001eb33

I also went to Intel's website to find out more about their Desktop Utilities and Active Monitor
Ver. 2.0.8.43, and I found out that it has got compatiblity issues and may fail if run simultaneously
with other monitoring software that uses the same resources, the monitoring ASIC chip and the
SMBus driver.

Is it the ATI Catalyst Control Center thats causing Active monitor to fail?

Should I uninstall ATI Catalyst Control Center then?

Is there a possibility that I can use both ATI Catalyst Control center and Intel Desktop
Utilities without the other failing?

I tried uninstalling Desktop Utilities and installing it several times, no luck!