Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

...NEED help, bad...

• Please log in to reply

MTeer

MTeer

• Pip
  • 9 posts
First of all, I am a novice at computers. I recently bought a Seagate External Hard-drvie to put my photos & movies on it...so as not over load my internal hard drive. This is a "plug & play" device. I installed the hard-drive and it shows up in my "CONTROL PANEL"...however, it will not let me open the drive to put my files in it. I get this message [i]"[u]This operation has been canceled due to restrictions in effect on this computer. Please contact your System Administrator".

...Well I contact Best Buy (where I bought the item) and they told me go into the control panel...click "User Account" and reset the security settings??? ...I open the control panel> User Ac't> but there is no securtiy settings on the window!!! Can anyone help he with the removal of this [b]"RESTRICTION"
???

...BTW...I am the Administrator! ...I have checked the Hard-drive in the system it shows "HEALTHY". It is listed on my computer...it just won't let me use it.

...THANKS to all who respond!!!

Advertisements

austin_o

austin_o

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 2,089 posts
Hi and welcome to Geeks to Go. Power up the external hd. Then go to start, my compuer. Select the external hd, right click, select sharing and security. This is where you make the changes needed to allow you access.

MTeer

MTeer

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 9 posts