Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

XP Pro issues

• Please log in to reply

compidjt

compidjt

• PipPip
  • 27 posts
I am a relative newbie trying to maintain four computers that are in the family.

I purchased a latitude laptop online for my daughter to take to college. She came home recently with a ton of problems, hijackers, redirectors, viruses, etc.. I assumed the routine of programs that I got from this board would cure the problems. it has not gone well.

After running all of the programs I went to run winupdate and was informed that they would not allow SP2 to be loaded due to the version or registration of the software. The certificate on the bottom is for Win 2k pro, not XP. I'm assuming that her not having sp2 or other updates may be a big part of the problem? If so, any advice on what to do at this point to help get this laptop working and secure would be greatly appreciated. I am willing to buy a new version if needed but I don't want to lose all of the other programs and docs if possible.

I have posted on the malware forum to try to at least get the system stable and clean before going forward. I hope this, or the other post, is not a waste of time.

TIA

Advertisements

Fenor

Fenor

Trusted Tech

• Retired Staff
  • 5,236 posts
Hi compidjt!