Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Switchable css?

• Please log in to reply

dob

dob

• PipPip
  • 37 posts
Im in my first year at uni, and ive been taught html which im pretty confident in now.
my next project is to make a site in frontpage which is obviously very easy, but it needs to have 2 different css styles embedded. im making the css files with a css editor, and i know how to apply them to the page, both through frontpage and raw html. i also know how to create an alternative style css sheet (but not how to get it to show!)

since we've only really been taught html so far, the lecturer said to just make the styles, style1.css and style2.css, set it all up and then he can view the source and swap the names style1.css and style2.css around.

what i would like to do though is to get a few more marks (and actually learn something useful other than use frontpage!) by having a button/link/option button, whatever that when clicked automatically changes the css (like at the top of the msn page where you choose between classic blue and simple white)
ive looked all over the net and havent found any really solutions all i found is this:
<html>
<head>
<LINK REL=StyleSheet HREF="style1.css" TYPE="text/css" MEDIA=screen>
<link rel=alternativestylesheet href="style2.css" type ="text/css" media=screen>
<title>test</title>
</head>
<body>

<a href="#" onclick="setActiveStyleSheet('style2.css');
return false;">Switcher</a>
<p>
sample text
</body>
</html>