Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Looking for some expert advice

• Please log in to reply

pyron81

pyron81

• PipPipPip
  • 298 posts
Hey Guys,

After a few days of spyware and maleware training on the site I have decided to start seeking certifications in both general and specific computer knowledge. BUT I need help. I have no idea where to start, what the difference between A+ and A++ is...here is what I am trying to achieve if you will.

I've been using computers for a good 10+ years. In that time I have received a degree in graphic design and I've learned to pretty much as much as I can about computers from building them to how they work to web design (css - tables are on the way out).

I would one day love to start my own computer business. I love dealing with computers, it does not feel like a chore to me when I am helping someone. I truly do love computers.

I'd like to know what certifications you guys would recommend. I have no networking knowledge but I would like to get some. I'd rather get certification for PC repair, building, etc before networking.

But where should I start? Which types am I looking for? Are the books that Books-a-million or Barnes and Noble sell decent for studying?

Thank you. :whistling:

Advertisements

SRX660

SRX660

motto - Just get-er-done

• Technician
  • 4,345 posts