Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Ubuntu 7.04 Wireless Internet

• Please log in to reply

mattdawg8

mattdawg8

• PipPip
  • 38 posts
I recently (as in hours ago) finished setting up a dual boot with Windows XP and Ubuntu Linux 7.04. When I ran Linux from the live CD, it almost instantly detected my wireless network and connected me.
Now that I have it installed, it will not detect my wireless network. Not being a computer expert, I don't know how to manually configure the internet. Also, being a teenager, my dad got the network set up in my house, but seems to forget whether or not there is a password on the network.
Is there a way for me to find out this password, or if there even is a password? I desperately need my internet connection to finish my install, so any and all help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!

Advertisements

ditto

ditto

- i pwn n00bs -

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1,260 posts
What kind of computer are you using? Is your wireless radio turned on?

The fact that you were able to going online through wireless on the Live CD makes me think that your wireless drivers are set.

In the notification area (top right panel), Right click on network manager and make sure that "Enable Wireless" is checked. Then left click on the network manager and look for your network.

Let me knwo what you find and good luck!

mattdawg8

mattdawg8

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 38 posts