Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

PLS HELP!

• Please log in to reply

tweester

tweester

• Pip
  • 8 posts
hey guys,newbie here...what is this problem? "you cannot logon because the logon method you are using is not allowed in this computer. please see your administrator.." i'm running vista business and server is windows server 2003 r2.. any ideas??

Advertisements

mazuk

mazuk

• PipPip
  • 56 posts
This could be something to do with the rights you have on that computer, do you know if UAC is turned on? (user account control) if so you may have been added as a standard user and not an administrator which has access to changing settings to do with the computer

tweester

tweester

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
can you show me how to configure it? and if i logged in as another account will it be credited?

mazuk

mazuk

• PipPip
  • 56 posts
If you go start>all programs>control panel> user account.

There should be a list of all the accounts for your computer and it will either say whether they are administrator or standard user, along there should be an option to create a new account presuming you have selected the administrator

tweester

tweester

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
yes i can create an account whther it is an administrator, power users,users, etc. etc.
but the problem is that when logging on as a standard user an error occured so the local user must change to administrator in order to effect the logging status on a domain server.. pls help!! what should i do??

mazuk

mazuk

• PipPip
  • 56 posts