Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Need help on CHMOD 777

• Please log in to reply

1Boss

1Boss

• Pip
  • 5 posts
I need help on this if possible, I am a newbie to this, but I follow directions well. I recently purchased Vortex47 Cash Making Websites & in the manual it said to upload a website file to my FTP folder on my hosting site. I did that. I went in and changed the following folders config, db, files & lang as instructed and all files in each directory to the read,write & execute = 777, for permission. Then I was to go to my browser and type in my www.mydomain.com/admin.php to make the necessary changes with my affiliate codes. But every time I go to this page, I get an error message stating:

Not Found

The requested URL /admin.php was not found on this server.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an Error Document to handle the request.

I don't know what I am doing wrong up to this point. I need to see if anyone can give me some advice please on what I am doing wrong. I tried it twice with two different domains with the same error. It is linux based hosting. I know this is easy and simple, but I am missing something. Any suggestions?

Advertisements

Taomech

Taomech

• PipPip
  • 61 posts
Hi Boss,
Are you sure that admin.php isn't in another folder. Eg. www.mysite.com/vortex47/admin.php
You seem to have set the permissions properly, so that shouldn't be a problem.

Thanks,
Taomech

1Boss

1Boss

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
I

Edited by 1Boss, 25 July 2010 - 10:34 AM.

1Boss