Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Getting the 7E BSOD on a Vista PC

• Please log in to reply

TheShadowFL

TheShadowFL

• PipPip
  • 23 posts
Im new here, and I'm a retired PC tech, who's still trying to help a few friends and old customers.
I have a (Vista Home Premium) PC on my bench doing the 7E Stop Error, which I don't seem to be able to fix.
I am reading another thread on a similar topic with GREAT interest.

This PC is only about a year old, it's an ACER mini desktop with integrated video and two sticks of 2 gig ram.
I share this question with the OP of another thread, , , "why would the PC run perfectly GOOD in Safe Mode, even going on the internet, with no BSOD's at all, but just booting up in Normal mode goes right to the dreaded 7E BSOD?

I've taken the HD out and connected it to my own desktop as a slave drive, where I ran all my Anti-Malware software on it and repeated 'CHKDSK /r /f' on it.

When I searched the web for a fix for this problem, I found a fix in the form of a program to download, but every time I click on the "Download" button, I get a file not found type of error. So here I am, looking for an answer to this problem.
I can just reformat and reload an OS, but I'd rather fix this PC if I can.

Cheers Mates!
The Shadow :D

Edited by TheShadowFL, 10 February 2011 - 09:48 AM.

Advertisements

rshaffer61

rshaffer61

• 34,114 posts

This PC is only about a year old, it's an ACER mini desktop with integrated video and two sticks of 2 gig ram.