Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

PC OPEN << Mandrake Linux >>

• Please log in to reply

MaverickSidewinder

MaverickSidewinder

• PipPipPip
  • 257 posts
Hi, from this magazine called " PC OPEN " i got Mandrake Linux. Im a noob in this sector...Is this the full os? if i install it will i loose all my data in windows xp?

I really don't know what to do.

Ill write here what it says on the cd:

MandrakeLinux 10.0

Complete operatin system (since i live in italy it says in italian) piu` i principali applicativi...(maybe: plus the most important applications... ;) )

Anyway...

I wanna hear some comments on this OS...if its worth a try.

Thanks again!

:tazz:

- Maverick

Advertisements

mpfeif101

mpfeif101

Member 1K

• Retired Staff
  • 1,411 posts
Hi there,

Yes, Mandrake is a "Full" operating system, meaning that you can install it and it will be similar to windows in a general computing sense.

When you boot from the Mandrake CD it will allow you to create a new partiton for it. In fact, it will probably automatically get it set up for you so that all you have to do is hit "Okay". The only way that you will lose Windows is if you accidentally delete the Windows Partition. A word of caution: always back up anything that you would not want to lose.

Mandrake is a distribution of Linux. It is a very popular distro for new Linux users. You will find that it is very user friendly. Good choice :tazz:

Don't be afraid to ask any questions ;)

MaverickSidewinder

MaverickSidewinder

• Topic Starter
  • PipPipPip
  • 257 posts