Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Help: "Reset this PC" with "Keep my files" failed and

- - - - -

• Please log in to reply

metumtam

metumtam

• Pip
  • 3 posts

Windows noob here

Started to have several small issues with my HP laptop, Windows 10 Professional, small stuff, but annoying never the less, lost ability to login with anything but the password (even after resetting and re-training fingerprint and face recognition), new printer not showing up in devices, some other minor quirks, etc. been about two years so I figure I'll clean up Windows.

I am not a Window's power user, so I did a "reset this pc" with "keep my files", which was supposed to "keep your personal files", but remove all third party apps, drivers, etc, stuff which I figured I'll reinstall.

After about an hour and several restarts, the reset failed toward the end and rolled back, I logged in and all third party apps were not removd and are still there

however the stuff it was supposed to keep, my personal files and folders, documents, downloads, pictures, etc, are ALL GONE, with the exception of files in the recycle bin and files in app data folder

Unfortunately no backup :-(

Yes I know backup backup backup but I in nearly two years never got around to purchasing an external drive, and the interal is an SSD (internet at home in the boonies is too slow for cloud backup), so I figured I am sorta safe...