Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Linux OS Distributions

• Please log in to reply

boob

boob

• PipPip
  • 74 posts
I have never used a Linux OS before, however I want to install one as a permanent and only OS on my PC. I used Partition Magic to make format my hard drive and is already ready to go as a Linux ext2 partition. However, (like the article in the news forums) I am overwhelmed by all the different distrubutions. I'd like one that has alot of similar features as Windows for personal usage, so I think Suse is comparible, am I right? Also, If I put this on a CD will it boot to the CD and install or is it completely different? How exactly should I go about installing a Linux OS?

Advertisements

Tyger

Tyger

Member 2k

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,896 posts
I downloaded the three CD version of Mandrake 10.2 from the usc mirror site, burned it to disks and only about an hour ago finished installing it. All for free, and it works fine so far. :tazz:

boob

boob

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
Did it work by putting in the CD and booting to it on a clean harddrive as if you were installing Windows? Or was there a different way of doing it?

mpfeif101

mpfeif101

Member 1K

• Retired Staff
  • 1,411 posts
Yes, SuSe will fit you fine. See here for more info:
http://www.geekstogo...se_-t38170.html

Also, If I put this on a CD will it boot to the CD and install or is it completely different? How exactly should I go about installing a Linux OS?