Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Remove Linux!

• Please log in to reply

NintyFan

NintyFan

• PipPip
  • 10 posts
I need a lot of help removing Linux, i know evreyone loves it, and I hate microsoft as the next person, my mate gave me a Linux disk a while a go, so installed it on my machine. Later I found I had no use for it as my dial-up connection was only available in windows or Linux BETA, and i couldnt play music as i needed to update the music player... yes you got it over the internet! Being a right noob I wanted to explore Linux so i tried an duel screen, this has no left me with only one of the screens working, and once Linux is loaded fully (log in screen appears) I can't see anything! (screen blurey) :tazz:

Can any one explain in noob terms how i can manualy remove linux, without logging on! :)
as the Microsoft disk only works once linux is removed, and my mate took the Linux disk away with him.
Many Thx NintyFan :)

Advertisements

SRX660

SRX660

motto - Just get-er-done

• Technician
  • 4,345 posts
From Microsoft KB247804.

Linux file systems use a "superblock" at the beginning of a disk partition to identify the basic size, shape, and condition of the file system.

The Linux operating system is generally installed on partition type 83 (Linux native) or 82 (Linux swap). The Linux boot manager (LILO) can be configured to start from:
• The hard disk Master Boot Record (MBR).
• The root folder of the Linux partition.