Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

What is overclocking?

• Please log in to reply

Homelessclown

Homelessclown

• PipPip
  • 30 posts
As you can see, i'm a newb. But can someone please tell me what overclocking is in a kinda un-technical way? Thanks.

-Nick-

Advertisements

Hemal

Hemal

Founding Fart

• Technician
  • 1,470 posts
hey nick,
overclocking is a way to kinda boost your processor to achieve a better preformance then it has- its kinda like releasing the processers potential - its like walking...and then you gain more speed...running

admin

admin

Founder Geek

• Community Leader
  • 24,639 posts
Here's my take on it. Let's use AMD as an example, when they make their Barton stepping CPU it's all the same silicon, the same chip used for the 2500+ to the 3200+. Now what they claim to do is "speed bin" the chips. Ensuring the chips that aren't able to perform at 3200 are sold as a lower speed chip.

In reality, most chips are perfectly capable of running at 3200+ speeds, but customers demand different price levels, so they offer the same chip for different prices at different speeds.

Here's where overclocking comes in. CPU manufacturers try to discourage overclocking their chips by locking the multiplier. However, the CPU speed can still be increased by boosting the overall speed of the motherboards front-side-bus (FSB). Again, using our example, a Barton 2500+ has a default FSB speed of 333 mhz. By using faster RAM, and boosting the FSB to 400mhz, the chip performs as fast as a 3200+ (actually slightly faster).