Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

FTP problems

• Please log in to reply

mike chag

mike chag

• Pip
  • 4 posts
Hello i am new to FTP and am having problems with my FTP server. I am currently using Ability Ftp Server and i have everything right but when i asked my friend to test it out it wouldnt work. I am behind a LAN and someone has told me that the ip is the same for all computers on a LAN and that might have something to do with my errors. When i tried accessing it via ftp://127.0.0.1 everything worked perfectly. How do i get people to connect to be behind a LAN?

Also is there anyway to recover the lost router password.

Advertisements

Dan

Dan

Trusted Tech

• Retired Staff
  • 1,771 posts
Hi Mike,

When you're on a LAN environment, each computer has it's own Internal IP Address, but they all have a single External IP (which is visible to the world); unless you have purchased multiple IP's from your ISP, in which case each computer may have it's own external IP.

To find out your external IP, goto http://www.whatismyip.org/ -- this is the IP Address which others should be attempting to connect to your LAN with. However, it may be necessary to open certain ports, in which case you will need to login to your router's web console. When you forward these ports, you will need to forward it to your Internal IP Address (which can be obtained via ipconfig from a command prompt); this will allow people to connect to your computer's FTP server, rather than one / all of the other computers.